Lather, Rinse, Repeat.

What a week its been! I swear, its a good thing today was Friday, because I never would’ve been able to make it another day. Let’s get this out of the way…IUI #1 was a bust. BFN‘s all around. Boo. A quick rundown of the week:

Friday(August 3rd) – 14 days past IUI. CD29. I had pretty much tested every morning for the past 4 days. All BFN’s. All week long I had been cramping like crazy, and I felt like I was going to start any moment. So every time I went to the bathroom I was looking for it, but secretly praying that it wouldn’t be there. Consequently, I’m pretty sure I went to the bathroom at least 25 times while at work that day. AF did not show, though. Such a tease.

Saturday(August 4th) – 15 days past IUI. CD30. BFN. For some unholy reason I volunteered to work this day. The clinic is normally closed on Saturday but we had a back to school special going on so this weekend was an exception. I found out very quickly that I NEED my Satudays off. Somewhere in the middle of the morning I had a crazy sharp pain down in my uterus. Like a stop me in my tracks and bend over sort of pain. It only last for a minute or two. And I had absolutely no idea what it meant or whether it was a good or bad sign. Later that evening at home I had a tiny bit of spotting. Finally, AF had arrived! I wasn’t particularly glad to see her, but I was just glad the waiting was over and I could finally get on with my life. Or so I thought.

Sunday(August 5th) – 16 days past IUI. CD31. Did not test this day. Expected AF to be flowing hardcore when I woke up. But she was nowhere to be found. And she never stopped back in. No spotting. Nothing.

Monday(August 6th) – 17 days past IUI. CD32. BFN. Oh .My. God. Monday came around awfully quick. Still no AF, but I did have a faint pink “discharge” that was coming and going all day. This seemed strange to me. When I start a cycle, I START. It’s on. I mean, its absolutely ridiculous for the first few days. I wasn’t sure what to make of this dainty pink stuff that may or may not be there. So I called the office. Nurse D calls me back and says Dr. L wants me to come in for a blood test, just to make sure.  {In other news, the knocked up new girl that I’ve been training was let go today. She just wasn’t doing the job and she wasn’t anywhere near where she should’ve been after over a month. And I honestly just don’t think she wanted to be there. This is majorly selfish of me, but a big part of me was happy to see her go. If only because it was so unbearable to watch her walk around all accidently pregnant while I can’t get that way no matter how hard I try. I sincerely do hope she figures it all out and things work out for her in the end. I’m just kinda glad I’m not gonna be right in the middle of it.}

Tuesday(August 7th) – 18 days past IUI. CD33. Blood test comes back negative. Dr. L doesn’t feel comfortable with this abnormal bleeding I’m having though, so he says to wait it out and call him back on CD35 and let him know what’s going on then. So at this point I have nothing to show for any of this except unanswered questions and a big fat bruise:

Does this color look good on me?

Thursday(August 8th) – CD35. Turns out, AF showed up in full swing late Tuesday night. The flood gates opened. So I called Dr. L today and they sent in my Letrozole. Ultrasound is scheduled for next Friday the 17th. Meanwhile, back at the ranch, I had an absolute horror show of a meltdown at work. I literally started crying right in the middle of surgery. Not sad, sobbing crying. It was angry crying. Every little thing was setting me off. I even snapped at one of my closest friends, who I happen to work with. This girl and I went to college together, we work together, I was in her wedding, and we have NEVER ever had any sort of tuft between us. But I was on the warpath and apparently it didn’t matter who was in the line of fire. Oh…poor hubby later that night. It was a bad day.

So here we are again. Back on CD5 {we ended up counting Monday’s spotting as CD1}. I started my Letrozole {Femara} tonight and will continue it until CD9. I’m a little concerned because Dr. L will be off all next week, so he won’t be there when I go in for my ultrasound on CD12. Whoever the on-call doc is will look at my u/s and decide what to do from there. I’m sure whoever it is is perfectly capable, but I just feel uncomfortable with anyone but Dr. L calling the shots on my IUI. I guess I’ll cross that bridge when I get to it.

This week has exhausted me. I’m so thrilled that its Friday again and that I get my FULL weekend! I’m gonna try to get through it without crying {too much} or being {too} mean to anyone.  HA!

Leave a Reply

