Weird Cycles & Crappy Insurance

In an earlier post I said that I should be getting AF on or about September 6th.  Imagine my surprise when that little devil actually showed up on September 6th!  That’s pretty much unheard of, for me anyway.  I haven’t been able to predict my period in….ever.  But sure enough, there she was, right on time.  But here’s the thing…

The last two cycles I’ve been on Letrozole.  My last two periods {this one included} have been….strange.  Started out very light and spotty, and instead of getting heavier, have stayed very light and spotty.  This is day 3, and the only thing I’ve had to wear is a tiny little panty liner.  Before the letrozole, when AF showed up, she showed up guns-a-blazin’.  Flood gates opened and it was on.  Granted, most of the time I had to take Provera to start my period…even while I was on Clomid, because at least half the time I wasn’t ovulating on it {hence the Letrozole}.  I’m just confused and almost feel like I’m cheating since its a barely-there period.  Anyone else had this happen while on Letrozole {Femara}??

Ok.  On to my crappy insurance rant.

My stupid workplace has been trying to switch our insurance for a while now to something that is cheaper for them.  They pay 100% of my insurance.  To clear that up, I pay NOTHING for health insurance.  Nothing gets taken out of my check every two weeks.  Whereas most companies pay 80% for employees, and the rest is deducted from their paycheck every pay period, my employer pays 100% for us for medical and dental {does not imclude spouse/family, only employee coverage}.  Which is fantastic.  I appreciate it, I really do, because I know the workplaces that do this are few and far between. Which is why I feel a tiny bit of guilt bitching about my insurance, since its free and all….but here we go.

Like I said, my employer has been trying to switch insurances for the last couple years, but they haven’t been able to because they’ve had some “high risk” employees {people with ridiculous medical conditions that went to the doctor/had surgeries all the damn time} on the payroll and no other insurance company would touch us.  For a little while there I thought I might be one of the “high risk” employees, since I’m in my OB/GYN’s office almost as much as I’m in my own!

Well, lo and behold, within the last year we’ve had two employees quit and about a week and half ago we were signing up for our new insurance.  Absolutely no warning whatsoever.  They just started pulling us into the conference room one day to fill out paperwork and said effective September 1st, you’re covered by the new crappy insurance!  Initially, I was swept up by panic, because I have no idea if Dr. L is covered under the new insurance, and there is no WAY I can change doctors after two years of treatment with this man.  Then, the thought of IVF hit me…because we aren’t there YET, but my old insurance did cover it {80% up to $15000} so I knew if it came to that we could at least try once without going COMPLETELY broke.  I was pretty pissed off, because this new change was A.) Unexpected, and B.) Screwing everything up for me {yes, me me me me me! I’m back to my selfish phase}.

Luckily, Dr. L is in network and IVF is covered, but with very strict stipulations that I luckily{?} qualify for {though the overall coverage of this new insurance blows}.  So yesterday I go to Walgreens to pick up my Letrozole, since I started AF on Thursday and will start the Letrozole on Monday.  I give the lady at Walgreens my new insurance info {which is typed out on official stationary from my employer since we haven’t even gotten our cards yet} and she promptly tell me that my new crappy insurance requires a prior authorization for the medication.  Fuck. Me. {sorry for the four letter word, but SERIOUSLY.}

She starts to explain to me what the prior authorization means, and I stop her and tell her I work in a doctor’s office, I know exactly what it means.  It means that I am going to end up paying $80 for FIVE pills.  Because it’s Friday and its after 5, and my doctor’s office isn’t going to get the prior authorization form to fill out until Monday, and they probably won’t get around to filling it out and faxing it in until later that afternoon {because I work in a busy doctor’s office and I know that’s how it goes}, and if by some SLIM chance of a miracle by the Powers That Be decide that this medication will be covered by the new crappy insurance, it will already be too late because I HAVE to start taking it on Monday.

I did what any desperate self respecting girl would do and I called in a favor.  I happen to work with and be pretty good friends with Nurse D’s {Dr. L’s nurse} daughter.  Since it was just a few minutes past 5 I tried calling Dr. L’s office but they already had the phones shut off.  So I called my friend A and explained the sitch to her asked if she knew if her mom was still at work or not.  I know she stays late sometimes because she’s called me well past 6 o’clock before from the office.  A said she’d call her cell and see and have her call me if she was.  I figured if she could at least get the prior authorization form faxed in now instead of waiting til Monday, it might speed things up a little.  Unfortunately Nurse D had already left work.  But I figured it was worth a shot.

Oh, well.  I don’t expect that it will be covered anyway.  Especially since I’m using it for infertility reasons instead of it’s actual use {breast cancer} but my old awesome insurance hadn’t caught on to that yet.  It just sucks because I paid $10 last month for the same 5 pills I’m gonna have to pay $80 for this month.  I can’t wait to see what other surpises this new insurance has in store for me!

Ok. End rant.

Everyone have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

