Baby Nugget – 9 Weeks

Holy cow.  NINE WEEKS?!  I have so, SO far to go, but it still seems like I’ve come a long way!  I’ve noticed its getting easier to be happy and excited about everything.  The paranoia is still there, of course.  I still check the toilet paper every time I use the restroom.  But I’m getting excited.  I’m excited to be getting closer to a time when we can tell people.  I’m just excited, in general I guess.  Paranoid but excited.  Ok, on with the 9 week update!

 

Baby is the size of a medium green olive!  She’s gaining steam.  At week nine, your fetus measures around .09 inches and weighs about .07 ounces.  She’s also developing more distinct facial features.  And her heartbeat is getting stronger!  Also, baby is now a fetus!  Baby was considered an embryo — but now she’s a fetus!  During the embryonic period, cells begin to take on different functions.  The brain, heart, lungs, internal organs, and arms and legs begin to form.  Once baby is a fetus, it’s more about growth and development to prep for life on the outside.  Happy graduation day baby!

How far along?  9 weeks

Total weight gain:  Not sure this week.  I forgot to weigh this morning, and I don’t like to weigh in the afternoon.  I may edit if I can remember to weigh tomorrow morning!

Maternity clothes? Nope.  But love me some yoga pants!

Stretch marks?  No new ones. Ha!

Sleep:  Can’t get enough of it!  I’ve been a little restless at night this week.  I wake up really hot and have to turn the AC down to frostbite level.

Best moment this week:  Nothing special this week.  Had a great lazy 3 day weekend with the hubs.

Miss Anything? Not really.

Movement:  Not for a long while I imagine.

Food cravings:  Peach Crush Soda.  There’s a 12 pack in my fridge right now.  Its caffeine free, but its pretty packed with sugar…but its SO good!

Anything making you queasy or sick:  Anything and everything.  Riding in the car for long periods of time.  If something is moving a lot on the TV screen.  The smell of almost anything cooking.

Gender prediction: No strong feelings one way or the other. As long as its healthy, I’m happy!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, sore boobs, morning sickness/afternoon sickness/evening sickness….basically ALL DAY SICKNESS, bloat, occasional lightheadedness, and most things smell TERRIBLE.  Here’s a new one… Tuesday my hand started hurting out of the blue from my thumb down to my wrist.  It was weird, and it didn’t subside.  So I did a little googling, thinking it was impossible for me to have a sudden case of carpal tunnel.  What I found was tendonitis, the description matched my symptoms perfectly.  What I also found, but wasn’t looking for, was that it was common to appear during pregnancy.  What?! I never would’ve linked the two together if google hadn’t told me it was true.  So I’ve been doing hot/cold compresses and wrapping my hand at night to stabilize my thumb and that seems to be helping a little.  So there’s my new weird symptom for the week!

Belly Button in or out?  In.  I have a pretty chunky belly, so I imagine it’ll stay.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  I am happy, and starting to get excited!

Looking forward to:  Our next ultrasound on the 3rd!

5 thoughts on “Baby Nugget – 9 Weeks

    • My RE has not given me any restrictions so I have pretty much kept up normal activity as much as I can while still being careful. I fell off my exercise wagon a little while before we got pregnant, so I’m not really doing much in that area…I’m too tired to exercise anyway! Ha! My job is pretty physical, so I’m very careful not to lift too much and ask for help when it comes to transferring patients, etc. Everyone and every pregnancy is different I guess, but I’m trying to keep to my normal routine as much as possible….even though “normal activity” tires me out so darn quick these days! 😉

  1. My strong sense of smell has definitely subsided in the last couple weeks–it used to be INSANE. One night hubby was cooking dinner and I was sitting in the living room a few feet away and without looking I could tell that he had the spice drawer open. Just crazy. And naturally everything smelled terrible, too. Luckily that’s gotten much better now–hopefully your day sickness will start to subside soon!

Leave a Reply

