Baby Nugget – 10 Weeks

TEN WEEKS!!!!!  Oh. Em. Gee.

A lot of things have happened this week.  Some good, some bad.  Some that I should classify as good, but…let’s just say I’m having a hard time.  We won’t be covering all that in this post.  Expect  a nice juicy post this weekend, though!

Monday was my 3rd {and final!} ultrasound with the RE.  Dr. P got Mr. Wand out and started poking around and immediately let us know how happy he was with how Baby Nugget is progressing.  He pointed out the spinal cord, which was the main development he was looking for this week. {My baby has a spinal cord! How cool is that?!}  Then we heard that beautiful heartbeat again….178bpm this time!  Strong as ever!  Then Dr. P said, “Ok, now let’s take some fun pictures,” and began poking and prodding again.  What happened next was the absolute most AMAZING thing that I have ever seen.  EVER.  It moved.  My baby moved.  It’s little stubby arms and legs were flailing around like crazy, and we could see it, clear as day, on the screen.  There are just no words.  But there were tears.  Pretty awesome day.

After that Dr. P informed that he was done with me.  There’s no more for him to do, so he asked, “Who’s going to deliver the baby?”  Um…what?  It took me a moment to answer.  Because while I know the answer, I didn’t fully comprehend the question.  I’ve never thought about delivering a baby.  I’ve never thought about anything past today.  All I’ve ever focused on is keeping this baby alive, today.  I haven’t even let myself dream of the day that I actually deliver the baby.  But as of now, its looks like we are well on our way to a January delivery.  And while I’m always a little paranoid, I’m absolutely elated.

So I gave Dr. P Dr. L’s name, and he smiled and complimented our choice.  He told us congratulations again and told me to make sure we keep them all updated.  Then Hubby thanked the doc, and said, “We may be back for another one.”  After signed my release papers so they could send my records to Dr. L, we walked out of the RE’s office and made the 2 hour drive for the last time.  It’s a little bittersweet.

So I called to make my first OB appointment, which is set for Tuesday the 11th.  The girl at the front desk was an idiot {and obviously new} and took forever to pull up my name in the computer, let alone make the stupid appointment.  The very next day I had a voicemail from Dr. L’s office when I went to lunch.  It was Diane, one of Dr. L’s nurses.  She said, “Hey girl, I don’t need anything. I just got your records from Tulsa and just wanted to tell you congratulations and we’re all excited to see you Tuesday!”   And that was it.  How cool is that?  I mean, I kid around sometimes, and I like to say that I’m a “special” patient at that office.  And its true, pretty much everyone there knows me because I’ve been so often in the last 2 1/2 years.  But its pretty amazing to hear that they’re all still rooting for me and haven’t forgotten about me since I moved on to the RE.  I might have an unhealthy relationship with my OB’s office…. haha!

Ok, let’s get on with this update!

 

Baby is the size of a prune!  Now, he’s about 1.2 inches long and weighs about .14 ounces.  His body length will almost double in the next three weeks.  At week 10, baby has working arm joints, and his cartilage and bones are forming.  His vital organs are fully developed, and they’re starting to function.  His fingernails and hair are starting to appear too.  Can you believe it?!

How far along?  10 weeks

Total weight gain:  -4lbs.  Again, not trying but the morning sickness is taking its toll!

Maternity clothes? Nope.  But love me some yoga pants!

Stretch marks?  No new ones. Ha!

Sleep:  Can’t get enough of it!  I’ve been a little restless at night this week.  I wake up really hot and have to turn the AC down to frostbite level.

Best moment this week:  Seeing my baby MOVE on the ultrasound!

Miss Anything? Energy.

Movement:  Not for a long while I imagine.

Food cravings:  Peach Crush Soda. I’ve been wanting some ice cream this week, but still haven’t got any.

Anything making you queasy or sick:  Anything and everything.  Riding in the car for long periods of time.  If something is moving a lot on the TV screen.  The smell of almost anything cooking.

Gender prediction: No strong feelings one way or the other. As long as its healthy, I’m happy!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, sore boobs, morning sickness/afternoon sickness/evening sickness….basically ALL DAY SICKNESS, bloat, occasional lightheadedness, and most things smell TERRIBLE.  Constipation vs. Diarrhea…my body can’t make up its mind! Sorry, TMI!

Belly Button in or out?  In.  I have a pretty chunky belly, so I imagine it’ll stay.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  I am happy and queasy!

Looking forward to:  My first OB appointment!

3 thoughts on “Baby Nugget – 10 Weeks

  1. Hi, I came across your wonderful blog a few days ago and have been catching up on your journey. Congratulations on this pregnancy! You have given me so much hope! ~Lynn

Leave a Reply

