It’s a…….

Drumroll please!!!

…………………………………………………..

Ok, enough!  It’s a BOY!!!

We are pretty elated.  We would’ve been amazingly happy with whatever this baby turned out to be, but it is pretty exciting to finally know.  It’s crazy how much real it makes this pregnancy.  Ever since we found out I’ve been constantly thinking about who he’s going to be and what he’s going to look like.  Will he have his daddy’s eyes or my nose?  It’s pretty amazing, this process of getting to know this little baby growing inside of me bit by bit.

Tuesday was the big day.  My clinic does an optional gender only ultrasound as early as 17 weeks for a flat fee of $50, which I think is pretty neat.  I believe I am right at 17 weeks this week, was probably around 16w6d on Tuesday.  Hubby and I got to the clinic and checked in.  The financial girl called me back to pay my $50 and I had to sign a waiver saying that I understood that this scan was strictly for fun and not for any diagnostic reasons.  It also said that I understand that early gender detection is not 100% and that at this early in gestation the “area of interest” is often swollen in both sexes so one can often be mistaken for another.  Interesting.

So we FINALLY get called back, after about 45 minutes, and at this point I’m pretty sure my bladder is going to EXPLODE because it’s full for the ultrasound and I’m pretty sure Baby Nugget was using it as a trampoline.  Susan was our tech. She was also the tech I saw the day I had my miscarriage.  I hadn’t seen her since sometime last year but she remembered me and congratulated me immediately.  It didn’t take very long once I laid on the table.  Nugget was in perfect position, legs frogged and spread like a champ to show us the goods!

I was pretty sure I knew what it was before she told us, even though it wasn’t near as obvious as I’ve seen other baby boy ultrasounds be.  Then she drew the little arrow and said, “See that?  It’s a boy!”  Hubby lit up like a Christmas tree and could not stop smiling.  He had been very quiet about the whole thing since I made the appointment, only saying that he didn’t care what it was.  And I’m convinced he meant it, I know he would be just as excited for a little girl.  But I think there was a tiny little part of him hoping for a little boy, and it was pretty adorable to watch him find out he was going to have a son.

Susan asked me afterwards if I had any feelings one way or another.  Honestly, it depended on the day!  I told her I was excited either way, to which she replied, “You worked hard enough for it, it didn’t matter boy or girl, huh?”  See, that’s what I love about my clinic.  Everyone there knows my journey and knows how long its taken me to get here.  Even though its been close to a year since this woman has seen me, and who knows how many women have come and gone since then.  It’s pretty awesome to have those kind of people taking care of you.

Hubby and I were all smiles when we left the clinic.  We couldn’t wait to brag about our sweet little boy 🙂  Everyone has been pretty excited about it, and Baby Nugget even has a few girlfriends lined up that he doesn’t even know about yet 😉 .  My mom was a little disappointed for a minute, because she was convinced I was having a girl, but now she won’t stop texting me boy names.

I have had a couple people ask me if I was disappointed that it is a boy.  Disappointed?  Seriously?  I cannot even begin to acknowledge the stupid that is that question.  When people have asked me over the last couple months what I want this baby to be, and I answer that I don’t care as long as it’s healthy, that’s not just something that I say just to say it.  I quite literally meant it.  How could I be disappointed in a {so far} perfectly healthy baby, whether it be boy or girl?  How could I be disappointed when not long ago I was starting to believe that I might never get to have a baby of my own?  This little baby boy is mine.  He’s made from me and my husband.  And that is nothing short of amazing.  That’s something that at one time I wasn’t sure we were ever going to be able to do.  How on Earth could that be a disappointment???

I guess we can chalk that up to another stupid thing people say to infertiles.

Bottom line, I am over the moon to be this sweet baby boy’s mommy 🙂  Daddy is already talking hunting and fishing and tiny little shotguns {mommy is not so sure about that yet lol!}.  Right now though, we’ve got to find this little guy a name!  Feel free to share some of your favorite boy names!

That’s all for now, this momma is tired!  I’ll try to get my 17 week Nugget update up by this weekend!

4 thoughts on “It’s a…….

  1. Woohoo! We were pretty sure we’d have a boy because it’s pretty much all boys on both sides of our families but it was a girl! I’m so glad we managed to agree on at least one girl name before the ultrasound because we had this huge list of boy’s names and could only decide on one girl’s name. We were not going to announce what it was because my mom wanted to be surprised at the shower, but pretty much as soon as I called her I let the cat out of the bag, so no surprises here 🙂 Congrats!

Leave a Reply

