Name Game

So it’s hitting me that I am halfway through this pregnancy.  HALFWAY.  I am 20 weeks.  That means only 20 more weeks to go!  And that’s only if I go to 40 weeks!  Yikes!  The paranoid momma inside of me is transforming into a panicky momma instead.  We have SO much to do!

The crazy thing is I don’t even know where to start!  My mom and aunt have been buying things nonstop since we found out we’re having a boy.  I’m not worried about things like clothes and whatnot, because I know he’s going to have plenty.  My dad told me last weekend to pick out my crib and nursery furniture and he would buy it for us as our shower present.  So now all I have to do is pick it out.  As far as other stuff goes, I’m at a loss as to what we should be purchasing right now and what things we should wait on in case we get them at one of our showers.  I think for now I’m going to focus on furnishing and decorating the nursery and go from there.  I see a checklist in my near future.

Another thing we need to get on the ball with is a name for this kid.  I know we have until he is born, but I’d rather have one picked out sooner than later.  I have to admit, boy names are hard.  He’s going to have to live with this name forEVER.  It’s a lot of pressure to name another human being!

We do have a middle name already.  My hubby’s middle name is a family name and we had decided before we even got pregnant that if we had a boy we would keep his middle name, which is Edward.  Now we just need something to go in front of it!

This last week we made a little bit of headway.  There are three names on the table right now.  And while they aren’t necessarily the top three names we’ve narrowed down to or even any of the possible names this baby might be named, it’s something to work with.

One of these names I’ve picked out.  One of them my husband picked out.  And one of them we both mutually picked out.  I don’t hate any of them.  But there is one in particular that I feel like is his name.  But hubby’s not quite sold.  So here’s the three names we’ve got so far, in no particular order…

Blake

Jase or Jace

Mason

Any thoughts on these names?  Or any suggestions on any other baby boy names?  We need all the help we can get!!! 🙂

weird-celebrity-baby-names-bizarre

7 thoughts on “Name Game

  1. I agree that boy names are hard! We don’t know yet, but with twins there’s a good chance of at least one boy, so we tentatively started thinking…
    All your names would go well with Edward, I think, and I guess you’ve checked to see how they’d go with the last name. Some parents wait with the final selection until birth and then decide on the name that just seems to “fit” this baby, this new person. I like that idea.

  2. Mason is on our never-ending list of baby boy names! We have an exhaustive list of boy names we like and an extremely small list of girl names, so it made sense of course that we are having a girl. And if it makes you feel better, we changed our minds on our baby’s name…after we’d announced it. Whoops! Oh well, not like she will know the difference. I think for the next baby we will wait to announce the name.

    As for baby stuff, we decided to wait for most of the “big” items, put them on our registry, and figured if we got them new at the shower that would be awesome, and if not we’d get them ourselves. (My shower is happening at 31 weeks so hopefully I won’t be too tired to do last minute shopping!)

  3. I really like all three names- especially Jace! Mason is adorable, but it’s so popular right now. I was one of about 3-4 Jennifers in every grade at school, and I got sick of that.

  4. Pingback: Annoying ‘Bump Buddy’ | PrettyCuteOvarieS

Leave a Reply

