Baby Nugget – Weeks 21 & 22!

Another late update, as promised! 😉 Cable guy informed us our modem was dead, so we got a new one and our internet is back in business!

Before I move on to my usual updates, I have a few pictures to share from our last appointment! On Tuesday we had our anatomy scan and baby boy was looking perfect! 🙂 He weighs in at 1 pound right now and apparently has big feet…maybe he’s going to be tall?? His heart rate was 150 and Dr. L and the u/s tech both said that he couldn’t look more perfect at this point.

Speaking of the u/s tech, we had one of my favorites for the scan, Jill. She was smiling ear to ear when she called me back and the first thing she said was how excited she was see me under these circumstances. I think Jill has done more ultrasounds on me than anyone there, and when we were about to start the scan she even pointed to the bottom of the screen at all the previous scans she’d done of me, saying that she was so happy that this time she would be scanning my very FULL uterus instead of an empty one. I also told Jill that I had told the front desk I wanted to buy a DVD for the ultrasound today, but the financial girl who collects the money never called me back. (My office charges $3 for a DVD to record your ultrasounds. They used to let you bring your own but I guess too many people were bringing DVD’s that weren’t compatible or something. I wasn’t too worried about paying $3.) Jill just said, “Eh, don’t worry about it, I’ll just give you one!” I mean, it’s only $3, but I’m pretty sure she wouldn’t have done that for just anyone. She also told me that when we come back for our 32 week scan to just let her know we want the 4D images as well that way we won’t have to pay extra for them. Have I mentioned how much I love my clinic?

Ok, ok, so here’s some pictures of my beautiful baby boy!

 

Profile shot!

Profile shot!

 

Just saying hi!

Just saying hi!

 

Sweet baby foot!

Sweet baby foot!

 

And here with go with the usual update…

 

Week 21:

Baby is the size of a pomegranate! {Who the heck has ever heard of a 10.5
inch pomegranate?!}  At 10.5 inches and 12.7 ounces, he’s big enough now
that you are probably feeling his movements.  During week 21, baby’s digestive
system prepares for the outside world; he is manufacturing meconium — the
tarry, black substance you will find in his first dirty
diaper!

{I want to note that the website I use for the
fruit sizes changes their measurements at this week.  Up until now, the average
length measurement has been from the baby’s crown to rump (or head to bottom).
Starting at 21 weeks, they use a measurement from head to toe.}

Week 22:

Baby is the size of a papaya!  During month five, the average fetus measures
about 10.5 inches to 11.8 inches and weighs 12.7-20.8 ounces.  At week 22, your
baby has more developed eyes and lips, and is looking even more like a
newborn.

How far along? 22 weeks

Total weight gain: I’m going to guess I’m at -1 or -2 lbs. I haven’t weighed myself at home this week, but I do know I’ve gained a couple pounds. According to my OB’s scale I’m back to my pre-pregnancy weight, but it’s always right after lunch when they weigh me and I only get on my scale to check 1st thing in the morning right after I pee.

Maternity clothes? I tried out a pair of maternity jeans this week. We can wear jeans on Fridays at work sometimes, and this week was one of those Fridays. They rode a little low and kept sliding down. My belly may not be big enough to hold them up yet, I don’t know. Or maybe I just need to try a different kind. Any suggestions on good maternity jeans that come in around a size 18ish?

Stretch marks?  No new ones.

Sleep:  I’ve been sleeping pretty good at lately, except for my nightly trips to the bathroom.

Best moment this week: Seeing my baby!

Miss Anything? Sleeping through the night. Sweetbay white chocolate mochas.

Movement:  Yes, and a lot of it. Baby boy is most active around 9-9:30 at night, right about the time I’m winding down and ready to go to sleep!

Food cravings:  Milk. Ice cold milk. Strawberry shortcake sundaes from Braums. Movie theater popcorn.

Anything making you queasy or sick: I’ve had some morning sickness this week. Just when I think it’s gone it creeps back up on me! It’s only first thing in the morning when I wake up though and not all through the night, thank goodness.

Gender prediction: Sweet baby boy!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, bloat/gas, VERY frequent urination. Occasional round ligament pain. Sciatic nerve pain. Heartburn and indigestion. Shortness of breath. Morning sickness.

Belly Button in or out?  In.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty happy!

Looking forward to:  Nothing big coming up I don’t think.

Next appointment:  September 24th – glucose test. Yuck!

 

6 thoughts on “Baby Nugget – Weeks 21 & 22!

  1. I got some great mat jeans from babies r us maternity section. they are same size but lil expensive but I love them. so comfy, the legs are stretchy too. well worth the 64$ price tag, when you do a registry with them u get a 15$ coupon off of there mat cloths.

    • Thanks girl, I’ll check them out! I don’t mind them being a little expensive as long as they are good quality… I only plan to buy one or two pairs to last me through this pregnancy anyway. I bought some at Old Navy, and they’re ok, but the panel is made out of a weird material (almost feels like maybe swimsuit material??) and slides right down my belly and won’t hold the pants up! lol

    • A quick question… I checked out the jeans online and the sizes are S-XXL… I’m thinking the XXL would be what I need but not sure. Just wondering what size jeans you normally wear and what size you bought in the maternity ones if you don’t care to share, so I have an idea of what size to get. Thanks!

      • I am normally a 16-18 and I buy xxl which tend to fit well. I figure if they are a lil big now (still very wearable) in a couple months I will be bigger (in who knows what area of my body) so they will fit then too.

Leave a Reply

