Panicked Pregnant Lady

26 weeks pregnant.  It blows my mind.  And makes me break out in a nervous sweat!

Why?  Because I have ABSOLUTELY NOTHING DONE.

Ok, ok.  The nursery walls are painted.  The crib is put together.  We have a dresser ordered which will be in next Friday.  We have a bassinet for which my granny is furiously sewing new sheets and bedding for.  Oh, and I bought a rug for the nursery.  We do have a rug.

But the list of things we don’t have is endless!  A rocker/glider.  Crib bedding.  A name for this child.  And pretty much anything else baby related.

I had a tiny meltdown last weekend because I felt like we were just so unprepared.  We only have 14 weeks left, maybe, unless he decides to come sooner.  14 weeks is plenty of time, but somehow feels like it’s no time at all!

My shower is coming up on November 2nd, and we are waiting to see what all we get before we make any big purchases.  So really, I shouldn’t be panicking just yet.  Except for the fact that I still need to register for this shower.  The thought overwhelms me because while I feel like we don’t have anything, I have no idea where to start and what we DO need!  But, I plan to have the registering done this weekend nonetheless.

I had my 1 hour glucose test on Tuesday.  It wasn’t good (the sugary drink) but I gulped it down like a champ.  I realized yesterday that my doctor’s office hasn’t called me with the results yet.  I’m not sure how long it takes for them to get the results back, but in the past I’ve always gotten a phone call with lab results the next day.  So I’m hoping I passed, but I’m going to call on Monday to find out for sure.

While I was in for my checkup, Dr. L raved about how amazing I’ve done with this pregnancy.  We’ve gotten over hurdle after hurdle, and with all the complications we were afraid we’d be facing due to my history and trouble getting pregnant/staying pregnant in the past, we’ve pretty much had a normal healthy pregnancy so far.  He told me he would see me again in 4 weeks, and by that time I’ll be 30 weeks along and only 9 weeks from delivery time.  After that I’ll see him every 2 weeks until we deliver.  It’s pretty exciting and scary at the same time!

The 2nd trimester has FLOWN by!

2 thoughts on “Panicked Pregnant Lady

  1. Boy do I SO know what you mean. We are at 32 weeks and I still don’t have a single diaper, bottle…the nursery isn’t finished….major panic mode. Especially since our roads just got cut off and what used to be an hour trip to the nearest BabiesRUs/Target/Anything really became a 3-4 hour trip, which really limits our ability to be like “oh, we forgot this! Let’s go back and get it!” My shower is today so I’m hoping we get a couple things we really need, otherwise I am not sure what we are going to do aside from order things…You’ll get it all done though! It’s longer than you think it is. 🙂

  2. No need to panic. A lot of the late 2nd tri loss moms and I haven’t done a thing yet, and won’t until A) 35 weeks, or B) baby gets here. All the vets have said it really isn’t that bad. Don’t panic, you’ll be fine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

