Baby Nugget – 28 & 29 Weeks

I’ve been a bad bad blogger lately.  Here’s my updates, better late than never!

 

Week 28:

Baby is the size of an eggplant!  At week 28, he is putting on layers
of fat and still weighs somewhere between 1.5 and 2.2 pounds.  He measures
around 13.6 to 14.8 inches.  His skin has a smoother and less wrinkled
appearance too.  And his lungs are mature enough that he could probably breathe
on his own if he were born prematurely.  Plus, his eyes, which can now open and
close, can sense changes to light as well.  The groundwork for his vision has been
laid, but baby’s sight will actually continue to develop during infancy after
he’s born.  Still, those blinking peepers are something to get excited
over!

Week 29:

Baby is the size of an acorn squash!  At week 29, baby is getting plumper.
Begin to prepare yourself for the absolute cuteness you’ll soon experience
every day!  Right now, he measures about 15.2 to 16.7 inches long and weighs
about 2.5 to 3.8 pounds.  He still has a long way to go, and may even triple
his weight before birth.

How far along? 29 weeks (and 3 days)

Total weight gain: I still haven’t weighed myself, but I’m going to guess somewhere between +5-7lbs.  I’m beginning to feel huge.

Maternity clothes? I have some but haven’t really worn them yet. I wear scrubs during the week and have been in the habit of not really going anywhere on the weekends.  I’m still in my same scrubs at work, although they are beginning to get just a little snug. Ok, a lot snug.

Stretch marks?  No new ones.

Sleep:  Sleeping pretty well besides the frequent trips to the bathroom that seem to be getting worse.

Best moment this week: Finally got our rocker/glider (which is a LONG story). But it’s still in the box right now.

Miss Anything? Sleeping on my stomach.

Movement:  Oh, yes :) He has been a wiggle worm the last few days!

Food cravings:   Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies. I still want a big bag of movie theater popcorn. Someone take me to the movies!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Morning sickness is back. Nothing in particular triggers it. If I take a Pepcid before I go to bed that seems to help some.

Gender prediction: Sweet baby boy!

Labor Signs:  No, thank you.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, bloat/gas, VERY frequent urination. Occasional round ligament pain. Sciatic nerve pain. Heartburn and indigestion. Shortness of breath. Morning sickness. Dizziness/lightheadedness. Pretty sure I’ve had a few Braxton Hicks this past week.

Belly Button in or out?  In, but starting to look….funny.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty happy! And tired.

Looking forward to:  Baby Shower November 2nd 🙂

Next appointment:  October 22nd.  I’m be 30 weeks! Yikes!

2 thoughts on “Baby Nugget – 28 & 29 Weeks

Leave a Reply

