35 weeks 3 days

I have been majorly lacking on my updates lately.  The last update I did was at 32 weeks! 😦  These past few weeks have proved to be my most difficult.

I feel like I am getting bigger and bigger every day.  I’m uncomfortable.  I can’t sleep at all at night.  I cannot control my bladder and usually carry a fresh pair of panties with me everywhere I go.  Did I mention I’m huge??  I feel like a beached whale most days.  I’ve really packed on some pounds the last few weeks.  Ugh.  I’m just miserable.  (But a happy miserable 😉 )

Starting Monday I am only working half days at work for the remainder of my pregnancy.  It’s getting SO difficult to be on my feet for 8 straight hours a day, so I finally had Dr. L write me that note he promised.  So for the next few weeks I’m down to half days/20-25 hr work weeks.  Yay for me but not so yay for our finances. :/  I cannot physically continue to work like I have been though, so it is a necessary evil right now.  Money is going to be tight until I go back to work from maternity leave sometime next year (because it is not paid).

At my last appointment we discussed possibly inducing a few days early if everything looks good to go by that point.  My due date is January 1st.  We would like for him to be here before the first of the year for financial reasons, among other things.  Plus, I really want Dr. L to deliver and he will be out of town on New Year’s.  Dr. L said he could induce me anytime between December 26th – 30th, as long as my cervix cooperated and was doing what it should.  I know there’s a lot of controversy about inducing, and most women want to avoid it if at all possible.  But I’m comfortable with our plan right now.  We don’t even know if I’ll be “Ready” to induce by then anyway, so it’s basically a wait and see game.  I have a funny feeling that he may come earlier than that anyhow.  But really, I’ve never done this before, so what do I know?

I’ve been having a LOT of Braxton Hicks contractions the last few weeks, and 2, possibly 3 REAL contractions.  All were on different days, but they were real and painful and I had to breath through them, so I’m saying they were legit.  Dr. L told me that if I have 6 in an hour that I have to breath through, that’s when I need to call.  So I haven’t panicked yet.  It’s just weird and a little scary preview of what’s to come I suppose.

Thanksgiving has come and gone, and I feel like I swallowed a whole turkey all by myself (even though I don’t even eat turkey)!  I feel like I’ve done nothing but eat for 2 days straight, which does not help the fact that I’ve been feeling rather HUGE lately.  I stepped on the scale this morning and I am officially up 15lbs from my pre-pregnancy weight.  It feels like a lot more.  And I have a feeling at my appointment on Tuesday Dr. L’s scale will tell me I’ve gained a lot more, because it always does.  Oh, well.  Back to Thanksgiving.  I had a pretty good holiday.  I love my family and the times we get to spend together.  And I love my granny and aunt’s cooking.  I was dreading this year because my mom and I got into it last weekend (family drama ahead!!!) because she was planning to bring her new husband to dinner on Thursday.  When I say new, I mean they’ve been married a few weeks.  And I’ve never met him.  And I wasn’t excited to meet him on Thanksgiving day.  Plus, she left it up to me to inform my dad that he couldn’t come to dinner because she was bringing her new husband and it would be “uncomfortable”.  (We have dinner at my mom’s family every year, and even though my mom and dad have been separated for a couple years now, they still get along and my dad has still attended family dinners…until this year I guess.)  It was a big mess.  Mom and I had a long sit down and there was a lot of crying.  At the end of the day my dad ended up not attending (he had his own family dinner that day as well, but he usually goes to both) and I had to be polite to my mother’s new husband.  I foresee more drama in the weeks ahead with Christmas dinner and the eventual delivery of my baby.   Mom even asked if she was going to be able to bring new husband to the hospital when I deliver.  Well, dad will be there.  If its too uncomfortable for everyone to have a meal together, how would it be comfortable for you all to be in the same hospital room together?? Ugh.  Not looking forward to dealing with that.  Luckily I have hubby to deal with it for me at that point, as I’ll be a little busy.

I debated whether to do my “normal” updates with the fruit and whatnot, but I suppose I’ll throw it in here at the end just for fun.   Hopefully now that I’m not working so much I’ll keep up with these last few weeks a little better.  I’ll try to get some more bump photos and nursery photos up soon as well!

 

Week 33:

Baby’s the size of a durian!  {I have NO IDEA what that is!!}  At week 33, baby weighs about 4.2 to 5.8 pounds and measures about 17.2 to 18.7 inches.  He may even grow up to a full inch this week!  He’s turning into a curious kid who can keep his eyes open while awake, and he’s starting to coordinate his breathing with his sucking and swallowing. Those baby bones are continuing to harden as well.

Week 34:

Baby is the size of a butternut squash!  At less than two months to go, baby weighs in at about 4.2 to 5.8 pounds and measures about 17.2 to 18.7 inches.  By week 34, he’s recognizing and reacting to simple songs, if you’re singing them.  If you’re not singing to him, start…he may find those songs soothing after birth.

Week 35:

Baby is the size of a coconut!  Baby Mason or Chace (still haven’t decided haha!) is about 17.2 to 18.7 inches and around 4.2 to 5.8 pounds.  By week 35, these systems are all a go in baby:  hearing is fully developed, the circulatory and musculoskeletal systems are complete, and his lungs are mature.

How far along? 35 weeks (and 3 days)…not too much longer!

Total weight gain: +15lbs.  At my last appointment, Dr. L’s nurse weighed me in a +18 total lbs, but I’m not going by that.  They always get me higher than my digital scale at home, plus my appointments are always in the afternoon right after lunch.  I weigh myself at home first thing in the morning, so that’s what I’m going by.

Maternity clothes? My scrubs are getting VERY tight.  With only a few weeks to go, I refuse to buy any new ones.  Scrubs are not cheap, people!  Hopefully I won’t completely bust out of them before he gets here.  At home I’m mostly in yoga or pajama pants, and if I go somewhere its my maternity leggings and a long top.

Stretch marks?  No new ones.

Sleep:  Not getting very much of it.  It’s been very rough the last couple weeks.

Best moment this week: Thanksgiving with my family, however awkward it may have been. I also got to see the new Hunger Games movie last weekend and FINALLY got my giant tub of movie theater popcorn!

Miss Anything? Sleeping on my stomach. Sleeping at all.

Movement:  He’s still rolling around in there like crazy, but I can tell he’s running out of room. Sometimes I can feel him stretch out from way down deep in my pelvis all the way up into my ribs! It’s pretty uncomfortable for me, but it’s neat to feel at the same time.  I think I’ll miss feeling him move the most when he’s here.  Oh, we watched Garth Brooks’ Live concert last night, and when he sang ‘Rodeo’ this kid went crazy!  We may have a Garth fan 😉

Food cravings:   A lot of Taco Bell lately.  And still my aunt’s homemade taco pizza that I’ve been begging her to cook for me! She promised she’d make it for me after Thanksgiving! 🙂

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not much.

Gender prediction: Sweet baby boy!

Labor Signs:  A few contractions here and there.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, bloat/gas, VERY frequent urination.  Sciatic nerve pain. Heartburn and indigestion. Shortness of breath.  Dizziness/lightheadedness. Braxton Hicks/actual contractions.

Belly Button in or out?  In, but it looks weird.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit when I first put them on. After a few hours they get tight.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty happy! And tired.  And cranky a lot.

Looking forward to:  Working half days and finishing up the nursery.

Next appointment:  December 3rd…36 weeks!

4 thoughts on “35 weeks 3 days

  1. We are both in the same boat,i FEEL huge & look it too! You’re lucky to only have put on 15 lbs. I’ve put on 34ish & i’m sure it’ll be more at my next appointment,I’m almost 200 pounds!!! Due Jan.2nd but I also have a feeling baby might come early-not too early but the 29-31st would be fine by me. I would love to go into the new year with my little man & my midwife said we could make that happen but i’m still not sure about it,i somewhat would like him to pick his own birthday,but yet that tax return would be nice. I also don’t get paid while i’m on leave which will only be for a month. It’s so exciting our baby’s could be here next month!!!

    • I am looking forward to feeling a little lighter after he’s here! I was already 200+ lbs before I got pregnant so I’ve tried not to gain an astronomical amount of weight, just that much more for me to lose afterwards! LOL I FEEL like I’ve gained 50 or more and not 15 though lol! I think 25-35lbs is average so you shouldn’t feel too bad, only a few weeks to go!

      I’m with you on inducing. A part of me wants to have that whole experience of my water breaking unexpectedly and seeing how my husband handles the stress haha 😉 But there is something to be said for having it all planned out. (and the tax return! haha) The biggest factor is Dr. L being out of town for the holiday. I really want him to deliver, after all we’ve been through TTC the last 3 years, I’m kind of being a brat about him being the one to do it. Like I said, I guess we’ll just wait and see how it goes. Maybe little guy will make a surprise entrance a few days early on his own and it’ll all work out perfectly anyway 😉

      It’s crazy that the time is almost here!!! 😀

  2. I completely feel you, 100%. At my last OB appointment before I delivered, I had put on 43 pounds–rounded it out at 199lbs. Yeesh. I was really rocking the beached whale look especially in bed. In the end though, it will all be worth it! Sorry about the family drama, that really makes things miserable. Just remember the decision about who gets to be in the hospital room (during delivery or visiting afterward) is completely your call. We had lots of people asking if they could come visit after and we had to tell them to wait and we would let them know when it was okay. Friends have good intentions and stuff like that but sometimes I think people don’t realize how overwhelming those first hours can be and it really needs to be a bonding time for you and your husband and your baby. Hang in there! Your sweet one will be here before you know it!

    • I now know why pregnant women always look so miserable in the end…because they ARE miserable! lol

      Family drama is for the birds. I’ve known this was coming for a while now, it just sucks that it has to come to a head at the holidays, which also happens to be when my baby is due. Ugh.

      I’ve already started discussing with hubby about our “who to call” list when we go to the hospital. I really don’t want to call anyone right away, not even our parents. I’d rather wait until he’s almost here or even completely here before we call people. I just don’t want people hanging out in my hospital room all day while I’m in labor. Plus, like you said, I really want that bonding time with just me and my husband and out baby. Oh well, I guess we will see how things go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

