36 Weeks 3 Days

Well, “bed rest” is going swell.  I use quotes because I don’t like the term bed rest.  Dr. L even told me not to just lay around in bed all day…I should definitely move from the bed to the couch to the recliner and so forth.  Ugh.

I was supposed to go back for a follow up yesterday, but our area was hit with a winter storm that left us with 2 inches of ice covered with 5-6 inches of snow.  So not only was I not getting my pregnant self out in that mess, but my doctor’s office was closed anyway.  So I’ll probably go in Monday, weather permitting.  Dr. L had told me that if the weather was bad and I was feeling ok (meaning not having any symptoms we talked about) then not to worry about my check up Friday and we would follow up next week. So right now I think things are ok.  I’m taking my blood pressure med like I’m supposed to and laying around doing pretty much nothing beside eat and occasionally shower.

As miserable as these last few weeks have been for me, I’ve found myself getting really sad that I’m nearing the end of my pregnancy.  It seriously seems like it flew by SO fast!  It’s crazy to think that in another week or two I won’t be pregnant anymore.  I mean, I’ll have a whole new thing to be happy about, but the pregnancy part will be over.  And I don’t care if you love or hate being pregnant, that’s really, really sad for someone who struggled with infertility.  I know our goal is to have a BABY.  But really, all that time spent trying and trying, and medicating and injecting and temperature taking and peeing on sticks…it was all to get PREGNANT.  It’s nuts when it finally happens.  And now I’ve blinked and it’s almost over.  😦  It’s probably the hormones, but it all makes me sad.

Ok.  Since I have nothing else to do, here’s my usual update…and a pic of the winter storm that snowed us in.

 

Baby is the size of a honeydew melon!  He’s still in the 17.2 to 18.7-inch and 4.2 to 5.8-pound range and continues to beef up.  Your once-poppy-seed would probably be able to breathe on his own if he was born right now.  (If not, he’d probably need some TLC, but he’d likely be okay.)  Most of his systems and his organs, such as his liver and kidneys, are in working order at 36 weeks.

How far along? 36 weeks (and 3 days)…not too much longer!

Total weight gain: Not exactly sure, but I’m guessing +16-17lbs.

Maternity clothes? Right now I’m mostly in yoga pants/pajama pants and big t-shirts. Since I’m on bed rest I have no reason to get dressed lol. I am glad I don’t have to squeeze into my scrubs anymore because they were getting very uncomfortable.

Stretch marks?  No new ones. But my old ones are stretching out a bit.

Sleep:  Not getting very much of it at night.  Luckily bed rest means I can nap during the day whenever I want, and I do 🙂

Best moment this week: Watching the snow come down! I LOVE snow! But it stinks I can’t go out and play in it this year 😦

Miss Anything? Sleeping on my stomach. Sleeping at all.

Movement:  He’s still rolling around in there like crazy, but I can tell he’s running out of room. Sometimes I can feel him stretch out from way down deep in my pelvis all the way up into my ribs! It’s pretty uncomfortable for me, but it’s neat to feel at the same time.  I think I’ll miss feeling him move the most when he’s here.

Food cravings:   Since we’ve been snowed in all I’ve wanted was a cheesy bean and rice burrito from Taco Bell.  Don’t judge.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not much.

Gender prediction: Sweet baby boy!

Labor Signs:  A few contractions here and there.

Symptoms:  Fatigue, bloat/gas, VERY frequent urination.  Sciatic nerve pain. Heartburn and indigestion. Shortness of breath.  Dizziness/lightheadedness. Braxton Hicks/actual contractions.

Belly Button in or out?  In, but it looks weird.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit when I first put them on. After a few hours they get tight.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty happy! And tired.  And cranky a lot.

Looking forward to:  Not much to look forward to since I can’t do anything lol…

Next appointment: Was supposed to be yesterday, so hopefully Monday December 9th.

Here’s our winter wonderland!

LOVE the snow!

LOVE the snow!

3 thoughts on “36 Weeks 3 Days

  1. Wow you have a huge backyard,I’m jealous i live in an apartment,I’m not on bed rest but I still haven’t gotten to play in the snow,mostly b/c we haven’t gotten a lot of it yet…plus lets be honest I would be out of breath just trying to make a snowball 🙂

    • Haha! We do have a pretty good size yard, I’m happy about that…plenty of room for a swing set and other goodies someday! 🙂 And I would get out of breath just getting dressed to go out in the snow! haha!

Leave a Reply

