37 Weeks 4 Days

I don’t have much else to do these days, so I thought I’d do my usual update.

Bed rest is going swimmingly.  I did a little bit of light housework today, and quite frankly wore myself out.  I don’t know if its the fact that I’m so far along and so close to giving birth, or that my body is just used to being at rest, but if I’m up for more than 5-10 minutes at a time I get EXHAUSTED!  So I loaded the dishwasher, wiped down some counters, and cleaned up the bathroom a little, all the while taking small breaks in between.

I did get out and go to Walmart a couple days ago.  I bought a few things for the hospital bag…mostly travel size toiletries: shampoo, soap, deodorant, toothpaste, lotion, things like that.  I put it all in a gallon size ziplock bag. I figure that’s easier than trying to remember to throw all that stuff in the hospital bag at the last minute.  I also bought a few things to make some homemade sugar scrubs for Christmas!  It was super cheap and easy.  And it gave me something to do.

No bump pic today, but I am including a gnarly picture of my belly button.  Because it’s weird looking.  I’ve been overweight pretty much my whole life to some degree or another, and carry most of my weight in my belly.  I never thought or expected my belly button to be an outie.  And while I’m not quite sure what it is at this point…I don’t think it’s still an innie.  It’s somewhere in between.  And it’s weird.  Just look!

 

Baby is the size of a winter melon!  {What in the world is a winter melon?!}  Yay!  Baby has reached full term.  He likely measures around 18.9 to 20.9 inches and weighs about 6.2 to 9.2 pounds.  He’s gaining about a 1/2 ounce each day.  During week 37, baby’s practicing some skills:  inhaling, exhaling, sucking, gripping, and blinking.  He’s also getting his first sticky poop, called meconium, ready for his first diaper!

How far along? 37 weeks (and 4 days)…Full term! it could be any time now!

Total weight gain: I think I’m still at about +16lbs. I had actually lost a pound at my last appointment, though I’m not sure how that’s possible!

Maternity clothes? Right now I’m mostly in yoga pants/pajama pants and big t-shirts. Since I’m on bed rest I have no reason to get dressed lol. I am glad I don’t have to squeeze into my scrubs anymore because they were getting very uncomfortable.

Stretch marks?  No new ones. But my old ones are stretching out a bit.

Sleep:  Horrible.  I’ve gotten myself in a bad habit of staying up late since being off work.  Mostly because I have such a hard time falling to sleep anyway.  And the last week EVERY SINGLE NIGHT I end up with a stuffy nose after laying down for bed! I’m fine all day after I blow my nose in the morning, but as soon as I go to bed, I’m up within a few hours not able to breath. Not sure what the deal is with that.

Best moment this week: One of my friends came over yesterday and painted my toes for me!

Miss Anything? Sleeping on my stomach. Believe it or not I actually miss having something to do during the day. Not quite sure I miss my job, but I do miss having a purpose lol.

Movement:  Yep.  Some days not as much as others, but still quite a bit.  Sometimes I feel like he’s sticking his butt out when my stomach gets real tight and hard, but I kinda feel like those might be contractions?

Food cravings:   Sugar. I have been craving anything sugary this week. Seriously, all I want is candy. I’ve destroyed a box of ice cream sandwiches.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not much.

Gender prediction: Sweet baby boy!

Labor Signs:  Frequent contractions, but nothing that progresses or has a pattern. They aren’t really painful either.  Oh, and here’s an interesting one.  TMI TIME, FOLKS! I’m about to talk about poop, so feel free to skip if you like.  I’ve been having a LOT of diarrhea.  I know.  Gross.  But it is what it is.  It’s all the time, no matter what I eat, and it happens very shortly after I eat as well.  I don’t feel bad, so I know its not a bug.  I just need to go, and when I do that’s that.  I’ve done a little reading into the matter and apparently this could be your body’s way of preparing for labor.  Your body is essentially “cleaning itself out” and preparing for the process that is to come.  Additionally, as you get closer to labor, most of your abdominal and rectal muscle begin to relax to all the baby passage…this also contributes to frequent and loose stool. Learn something new every day, huh?  While we’re on the subject of poop (might as well at this point) is anyone else worried about pooping on the table?? It happens. I know it does. And I know its stupid to worry about. But seriously?? Didn’t I go through enough to get here without shitting in front of everyone in the room? Maybe my body will have “cleansed itself” enough by that point and there won’t be anything left.  We can only hope!

Symptoms:  Fatigue, bloat/gas, VERY frequent urination.  Sciatic nerve pain. Heartburn and indigestion.  Shortness of breath.  Dizziness/lightheadedness. Braxton Hicks/actual contractions.

Belly Button in or out?  In, but it looks weird. Seriously. See picture below.

Wedding rings on or off?  They fit when I first put them on. After a few hours they get tight.

Happy or Moody most of the time:  Pretty happy! And tired.  And anxious.

Looking forward to:  Christmas. And meeting my baby boy. Which ever comes first!

Next appointment: Tuesday, December 17th.

Weird Belly Button!

Weird Belly Button!

6 thoughts on “37 Weeks 4 Days

  1. My belly button looks like it wants to make it’s way out but hasn’t yet,i guess some don’t pop out. Kinda wish my body was cleaning itself out,TMI i get poop cramps but hardly anything wants to come out,i’m not really worried about pooping on the table b/c I know it happens but yeah I’d rather not. lol I’m also 37w4d keep telling myself baby can come any day now. 🙂

    • Ugh! Cramps are the worst. I had that problem for a while…couldn’t go and hurt so bad. Now its the exact opposite!

      I’m anxious to get checked tomorrow and see if I’m at least a little bit dilated. I’m getting so nervous the closer it gets to time!

  2. Diarrhea is an early labor sign, or so I’ve read everywhere 🙂 I had terrible stomach problems about 36 hours before my water broke. I thought I was going to die I was in so much stomach pain. Lo and behold!

    • I’ve read that everywhere, too! Except mine has lasted WAY more than 36 hours and still no labor lol. I haven’t had any pain with it either…just gotta go! I’ll try to stay positive and hope this means it’s getting close 🙂

  3. I just hit 36 weeks and have started diarrhea, ugh I thought I was getting some type of bug but maybe its normal?? My belly button is looking more like a coin slot but for the first time I think I can see the bottom. I am jealous you got to eat ice cream sandwiches I can because of GB. Getting so close yay!

    • Girl, I have had it off and on for the last couple of weeks…and like I said, no other “buggy” symptoms, so that’s why I did a little research. Apparently it’s an early labor sign! Could still be a while but your body is getting ready I guess!

      That sucks that you have GB!!! But not too much longer and then you can have yourself some sweet treats! 😉

Leave a Reply

