My First Period

Postpartum that is.

But seriously guys, I started my period on Wednesday.  All by myself.  No medication required.  No birth control,  no Provera, just my body doing it’s thing all on its own.  This is a huge deal to me!!!

I’m not sure if it counts since I just gave birth 10 weeks ago, but I’m choosing to celebrate anyway 🙂 (who in their right mind is excited to see AF??!) For someone with PCOS this is almost a miracle in and of itself!

Before I started TTC I hadn’t had a period on over 2 years. Since TTC I’ve only had one due to the meds I was on. That makes this my first real period in over 5 years.

I’m excited to see what my body does from here on out.  Wouldn’t it be a hoot if I were to have regular cycles and begin ovulating on my own?? Not that I’m ready to TTC again nor am I holding my breath, but its just exciting to think about! (I just realized ho we incredibly sad this post is lol)

So that’s my news. Just wanted to share with all my other infertility pals. 🙂

10 thoughts on “My First Period

  1. As a fellow PCOSer, I say, WOW! Congrats! I’m 8.5 months postpartum, and still no period. I feel like it might be on the way though…. Not that I actually really remember what it’s like to have one. haha
    I hope your body starts behaving itself! 🙂

    • Well now that you say that…. its probably been at least that long for me too! I went 2 years with no cycle at all before TTC, but before that I had been on birth control since I was 18… So really I haven’t cycled ON MY OWN since my senior year of high school!! Geez!

  2. I got mine 6 weeks pp. lol BUT I am on the opposite spectrum with PCOS. I would get mine every 2 weeks very heavily, but I didn’t ovulate. I don’t know if the endo has anything to do with that or not! Congrats though!

    • Haha thanks! I was like that in high school. .. Sometimes I’d have one every 2 weeks. Then I’d go 2 or 3 months. Then heavy again for 2 or 3 weeks at a time. Eventually I was going 6 months between cycles then I got on the pill. After getting off BC I didn’t cycle at all!

  3. Hi there, I found your blog yesterday and sorry I’ve been kind of crazy lady over here, and read almost all of your posts. My heart broke with you and rejoiced with you. I’m so very happy that you were able to conceive and carry your beautiful and healthy baby boy. I have PCOS as well and my husband and I have been trying to conceive naturally and on Metformin for 11 months. We’ve recently moved and I just found a new doctor here in Greenville that seems to have quite a bit of hope that I will be able to conceive under his care. I recently finished Provera (God help me!) and will be starting Femara tomorrow.
    Thanks for sharing you story and for being such an inspiration to me and many other women out there!

    Katelyn
    http://realhousewifeofgreenville.blogspot.com/

    • This comment seriously brought tears to my eyes! Thank you for the kind words! 🙂 I hope you have all the luck in the world with your new doc… I think finding the right doctor makes all the difference in the world. At least it did for me 🙂

      Good luck with this cycle! Provera made me a trainwreck! Thank goodness you’re done with it this cycle lol. I’ll be checking in to see how things go for you. Hoping for a BFP!!!

Leave a Reply

