My First Mother’s Day

Seriously,  hubby did such a great job celebrating me on my first Mother’s Day!  He did way too much and set the bar high for Father’s Day.  I would usually fill this post with a lot of mushy things about why I’m so happy and grateful that I got to celebrate this day this year, and that’s all true.  But I have a sleeping baby in my arms right now who could wake up and decide this post is over at any moment,  so I’m gonna keep it short and sweet.

My Mother’s Day happened over 3 days,  or in 3 phases according to my husband.  Phase 1 was getting flowers delivered to work on Friday!  I never get flowers so I was genuinely surprised!  And they were so beautiful and funky…not your run of the mill roses, I loved how different they were.  The card was short but sweet and brought a tear to my eye,  simply saying “It took a long time but you’re finally a mom.”

20140509_123250

When I got home from work that night,  hubs told me to be ready when he got home Saturday night for Phase 2 of my Mother’s Day weekend.  He made reservations at a super expensive steak house that we’ve only been to once before. He arranged a sitter without me knowing and took me out on our first date post baby. We shared a $70 two and a half pound steak and it was fantastic! We definitely cannot dine like that often but boy was it good!

20140510_192333

Phase 3 of my Mother’s Day weekend was a simple card when I woke up Sunday.  It was beautiful and amazing and made me cry AGAIN! Hubby knows just the right things to say! Inside the card was a gift certificate for a 90 minute swedish massage that hubby had already scheduled for that following Tuesday while he would be home with M. It. Was. Amazing.

20140511_100740

 

I can’t say enough about my first Mother’s Day.  It was more than I ever could of dreamed! I still can’t believe that I’m actually a mommy!  I will cherish this day for the rest of my life 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “My First Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

